Pujut by-election on July 4

PUTRAJAYA, May 19 – Polling for the Pujut by-election has been set for July 4, the Election Commission announced.

EC chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah (pic), who made the announcement on Friday, also said that nomination of candidates will be on June 20.

There will be no early voting for the Pujut by-election.

A by-election was called for the Pujut state seat, which is in the Miri parliamentary constituency, after its incumbent Dr Ting Tiong Choon was removed by the Sarawak state assembly.

On May 12, Sarawak International Trade and E-Commerce Minister Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh tabled a motion the assembly to disqualify Dr Ting over claims that he held Australian citizenship.

The motion received 70 support votes from Barisan Nasional representatives, while 10 Opposition lawmakers rejected it.

Malaysia does not allow its citizens to hold dual citizenship.

Dr Ting won the Pujut seat with a majority of 1,759 votes in a four-cornered fight in the May 2016 Sarawak state election.

His opponents were Datuk Hii King Chiong, who stood as a Barisan direct candidate, PAS’ Jofri Jaraie and former Pujut assemblyman Fong Pau Teck, who contested as an independent after DAP decided not to field him in the election.

Join the Conversation